Congratulations to the winners of the 4th annual Digital Publishing Awards, revealed on May 29th at the annual soiree. The soiree saw Gold and Silver winners presented in 23 various categories, with Gold winners in individual categories each receiving a $500 cheque. Hosting the event was award-winning journalist and editor Eternity Martis.

The General Excellence awards were presented in three divisions: small, medium, and large. The Sprawl won Gold in the small division, Maclean’s won Gold in the Medium division, and CBC News won Gold in the large division.

Receiving the Leadership Award was TVO’s Executive Producer of Digital, Kathy Vey. Kathy is the first woman to have received this prestigious recognition. Sofia Misenheimer of Art/iculation was the recipient of the Emerging Excellence award, which honours an individual whose early work in Canadian digital publishing shows the highest degree of craft and promise.

Publications winning Gold and Silver awards include:

For photos and highlights from the event, follow the Digital Publishing Awards on Twitter and visit us on Facebook.

Please visit our blog for the complete list of winners in all categories.


The National Media Awards Foundation is incredibly grateful for the support of: the Government of Canada, the Ontario Arts Council, Ontario Creates, Reader’s Digest Foundation, and KCK Global. We are also thankful for the support of Cision, Magazines Canada, PUSH Media, Very Good Studios and Vividata.

Our sincerest thanks to this year’s judges, who graciously volunteered their time and expertise, evaluating the hundreds of entries submitted to this year’s competition.

Next year’s call for entries will open in January. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook for updates.