The Digital Publishing Awards
Produced by the National Media Awards Foundation, the Digital Publishing Awards promote and reward the achievements of those who create digital publishing content in Canada.


Call for Entries - 2018 Digital Publishing Awards

The Call for Entries for the 3rd Digital Publishing Awards is now open! This year, the DPAs will be honouring excellence by Canadian digital publishers and creators in 24 categories. Awards for individual creators include a cash prize of $500. The Small Publisher’s Rebate and the Freelancer Support Fund are still available this year. 




Submissions & Deadline

Submissions can be made online at

The entry fee for most awards is $100 at the Early-Bird rate (by January 19).

The final deadline for all entries is February 2, 2018.

The deadline to nominate someone for the Emerging Excellence Award or the Digital Publishing Leadership Award is March 1, 2018. 


Rules & Judging

For a complete guide to eligible publications and content, please see the DPA Rules.

For a complete description of judging procedures, please see the DPA Judging Process.

To nominate a colleague as a judge, please email us at



Submissions are open to Canadian digital publishers and content creators whose work appeared in them during 2017. Eligible publications—including those that support established brands in magazine, newspaper, broadcast, B2B and other journalism, as well as those that serve their audiences exclusively as digital brands—is one with a permanent editorial staff in Canada and published in either English or French or a combination of both.



What's New this Year

Following two successful award years, the Digital Publishing Awards continue to expand its program under the guidance of our Advisory Committee—including Jean-Philippe Cipriani, Jude Isabella, Matt Frehner, and Kenny Yum—feedback from participants and judges, and the NMAF Board of Directors. Changes include:


1. The top overall prize—General Excellence in Digital Publishing—will be presented in three divisions, for small, medium and large publications.


2. One of the Best News Coverage categories will be exclusively open to small publications.


3. The awards for Best Service Feature, rewarding excellence in service journalism, have been revised to include the following three categories: Lifestyle; Careers and Personal Finances; and Family and Health.


4. The Best Podcast category has been expanded and renamed Best Podcast and Audio Storytelling to include audio stories.


5. Three new categories have been added to the program: Fiction; Best Science and Technology Story; and Best Photo Storytelling.


Sponsorship Opportunities

For sponsorship inquiries, please contact Barbara Gould, Managing Director, at or 416-939-6200.


About the Digital Publishing Awards

The Digital Publishing Awards promote and reward the achievements of those who create digital publishing content in Canada—the writers and editors, designers and developers, video and podcast producers, photographers and illustrators, and many others. The DPA program recognizes, celebrates and promotes to a national audience the innovative publishing teams that produce digital content in Canadian media.