Call for Entries

The National Media Awards Foundation is excited to announce we are now accepting submissions for the 7th annual Digital Publishing Awards! This year, there are 24 categories Canadian content creators and digital publishers can submit their original work to, for the chance to be recognized by Canada’s most prestigious media awards organization. 


The 24 DPA categories feature a mix of awards for individual creators, teams of creators and publications at large, plus two special awards: The Emerging Excellence Award and the Digital Publishing Leadership Award.

For 2022, nine awards are also open to applicants of both the National Magazine Awards and National Magazine Awards: B2B, as well as applicants of the DPAs. For this cross-program initiative, all entries in each category will be evaluated by a single panel of judges, and one winner will be announced per each category below:

  • Best Editorial Newsletter
  • Best Podcast: Current Affairs
  • Best Podcast: Arts, Culture and Society
  • Best Online Video: Short
  • Best Online Video: Feature
  • Best Online Video: Mini-Doc
  • Best Arts & Culture Storytelling
  • Best Science & Technology Storytelling
  • Best Column

How to Submit

  1. Register online at 
  2. Review the Rules and Submission Requirements to ensure eligibility
  3. Review the submission Categories and complete the application(s)
  4. Pay the required entry fees 

Fees and Prizes

The fee to submit work to the DPAs is $125 per category, plus HST. The early bird fee is $115 per category, plus HST. Please note that the entry fee is only $25 for the two special award categories (Emerging Excellence Award and Digital Publishing Leadership Award). Gold winners of each individual creator award will receive a cash prize of $500, plus a winner’s certificate. Team creator and publication-specific awards will receive a certificate and/or winner’s seal.

Support for Freelancers

Independent writers and creators are entitled to an exclusive promotion under the Freelancer Support Fund, which allows them to get two entries for the price of one. The promotion only applies to individual creator categories (those with a $500 cash prize for Gold winners.) For more details on eligibility and how to access the promotion, click here.


The DPA Early Bird Rate offer ends on January 24, 2022 and the final submission deadline is January 28, 2022 at midnight (ET). Note that the deadline for the Emerging Excellence Award and the Digital Publishing Leadership Award is March 2, 2022.

National Magazine Awards and National Magazine Awards: B2B

Looking for more writing, visual or editorial categories? Try the National Magazine Awards, where Canadian content creators and both digital and print magazines are invited to submit their work to 28 different categories. If you’re looking to submit business-to-business content, be sure to check out the National Magazine Awards: B2B’s 18 unique categories.


We have answers. Connect with us by email at, or via direct message on Twitter.

Leave a Reply